Sgt. Scott Atherton earns NHMTA Safety Award

At its Annual Meeting on November 29, NHMTA awarded Sgt. Scott Atherton with the association’s Annual Safety Award. This award is presented annually to one New Hampshire Department of Safety (DOS) employee. The award is to recognize a DOS employee who provides outstanding service to the members and staff of NHMTA.

NHMTA 2023 Safety Award WinnerSgt. Atherton, who serves in Troop G of the New Hampshire State Police, has provided outstanding service to NHMTA members and staff for many years, particularly during 2023. He contributed many hours at the NHMTA office for Truck Driving Championship (TDC) planning meetings. Sgt. Atherton wrote the test that TDC competitors complete during the annual event. He served as a volunteer during the actual Truck Driving Championship event.

Sgt. Atherton is also a key participant in regular meetings that NHMTA has with NH DOS and DMV leadership. All of these contributions required Sgt. Atherton to make time out of his busy schedule of patrolling New Hampshire’s highways, which he does to keep all motorists safe.

NHMTA congratulates Sgt. Scott Atherton on winning this award, and thanks him for his service to the State of New Hampshire.